Go to Top

Officiell pressrelease om EHPU TOP 7

Hansen and Karabatic named in EHPU TOP 7

The Paris Saint-Germain duo Nikola Karabatic and Mikkel Hansen are both among the players’ favorites on the EHPU TOP 7 for the 2016/2017 season. – For the first time, European handballers have voted the Team of the Year – we are proud to announce the players’ favorites, says EHPU President, Michael Sahl Hansen.

 The European Handball Players Union (EHPU) has invited players from all member countries to vote for EHPU TOP 7 – Team of the Year. Now the seven player favorites is official. Danish Nationalteam captain and THW Kiel goalkeeper, Niklas Landin, is one of the players on EHPU TOP 7.

 I am extremely proud of being choosen to the TOP 7 team by my colleagues in Europe. There is no doubt that the greatest honor, one can achieve, is the one who comes from your colleagues, so I am very happy, says Landin.

 EHPU TOP 7 2016/2017:

 Goalkeeper: Niklas Landin Jacobsen, TWH Kiel.

Left back: Mikkel Hansen, Paris Saint-Germain Handball.

Centre back/playmaker: Nikola Karabatic, Paris Saint-Germain Handball.

Right back: Kiril Lazarov, FC Barcelona Lassa.

Left wing: Uwe Gensheimer, Paris Saint-Germain Handball.

Right wing: Lasse Svan Hansen, SG Flensburg-Handewitt.

Pivot: Julen Aguinagalde, KS Vive Tauron Kielce.

EHPU was founded in 2008 and today represents over 1350 male and female handball players. Players Unions from Denmark, France, Germany, Iceland, Norway, Spain, Sweden and Croatia are part of EHPU. The EHPU aims to safeguard the players’ interests and rights at the overall level.

 In 2017, the EHPU TOP 7 for men is presented for the first time and in 2018, EHPU TOP 7 for women, will be arranged too.

 The prizes for the players at EHPU TOP 7 will be awarded in cooperation with the athletes’ protection provider G-FORM. It’s the first time the players have their own prize award at international level.